The Union County Board of Elections met on May 3, 2022. Those in attendance were Chairman William Steele; Board Members Gary Lee, Dean Cook, and Rebecca Pokorski; Director Tina LaRoche; Deputy Director Brandon Clay; Election Specialist Michelle Forrider.

Unofficial results

Chairman Steele declared the polls open and called the meeting to order at 6:30 a.m.

Election Update

Deputy Director discusses the morning activities. Mostly printer cables loose and machine time issues that needed corrected. National Guard was slow to open due to car accident. We deployed our Part-time staff of Gretchen Kinney and Vicki Flanders to help the set up.

Approve minutes from April 5th board meeting

The minutes from the April 5th meeting were presented to the Board for their approval. Board Member Lee motions to approve minutes. Board Member Cook seconds the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Approve bills

Director LaRoche presented the bills from last month.

- Board member Cook motions to approve all bills. Board member Lee seconds the motion. The motion passed unanimously.
- Travel Expense for Renee Error, Vicki Flanders and Gretchen Kinney.
- Dell Computers

Campaign Finance

- Elections Specialist presents the reports for the Board's approval. Board Member Lee motions to approve the reports. Board Member Cook seconds. The motion passed unanimously.
- Committee to Elect Steve Robinson Commissioner
- Committee to Elect Rod Goddard
- Friends of Dave Lawrence
- Chris Schmenk for Commissioner
- Committee to Flect Andrea Weaver

Policy Update

Board Member Cook motions to update Board of Elections Meal Policy. Board Member Lee seconds.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Rule on Absentees

Deputy Director Clay presents 4 absentee ballots that would not scan. He recommended to scan again with overvote turned off. Board Member Cook motions to follow staff recommendations and run again with overvote turned off. Board Member Lee seconds the motion. Director Clay presents one Absentee ballot that had a hesitation mark. Board Member Lee motions to remake the ballot for Tammie Wilson. Board Member Cook seconds the motion.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Position of Director

Director LaRoche informed the Board that she will be retiring, and May 24 will be her last day.

Recess

At 7:15 a.m. the Board discussed going into recess. A motion was made by Board Member Cook to go into recess till 6:45 p.m. and second by Board Member Pokorski.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Unofficial Canvas

The Board reconvened the meeting at 6:45 p.m. to conduct the unofficial canvass. After all ballots were counted, the Board signed and Certified the Unofficial Canvas.

Adjourn

Motion to adjourn meeting at 11:15 by Board Member Cook. Seconded by Pokorski. Chairman Steele closes the meeting.

• The motion passed unanimously.

Michelle Forrider, Elections Specialist

William Steele, Chairman

William C. Steele, Chairman Dean E. Cook Rebecca Pokorski Gary J. Lee



Tina LaRoche, Director Brandon Clay, Deputy Director Michelle Forrider, Elections Spec. Renee Error, Elections Spec.

835 East 5th Street, Suite A Marysville, Ohio 43040

Board of Elections Meal Policy May 3, 2022

Meal reimbursement policy for Board of Elections employees will be as follows.

- Maximum daily limit for meals will be the same as under the Union County Policy manual.
- There will be no per meal or time of day limits.

Items not subject to reimbursement are:

- Tips in excess of 20%
- Alcoholic beverages

The policy was updated on May 3, 2022.

William C. Steele Whi Cole Dean E. Cook Dean E. Cook Rebecca Pokorski Rebecca Pokorski Rebecca Rfar Mary Lee

Phone: 937-642-2836 Toll Free 800-531-2217 Fax: 937-642-2823 Email: boardofelections@unioncountyohio.gov